Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: If You Like This (Super Popular Novel) Try This (Classic)

You guys know, I will take any opportunity to recommend some of my favorite classics. So Today I've got some classics recommendations for you based on some popular novels you have probably read. 

If you loved the doomed love and angsty teenagers in The Fault in Our Stars try Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte


Cathy and Healthcliff are the original angsty teenagers in a doomed love. The drama in this novel is real people.  
If you loved the unlikable characters and murder in Gone Girl, try The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald 
 

The characters in Gone Girl have nothing on the characters in Gatsby. So unlikable, so selfish, but so real and so interesting. 
If you loved the scary vampires in Vampire Academy, try Dracula by Bram Stoker
 

If you loved the love-hate relationship in Obsidian, try Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 
 

If you loved the love triangle in The Infernal Devices, try Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
 

If you loved the kick-ass female character in Throne of Glass, try Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw
 

Eliza Doolittle kicks ass in a much different way than Celaena, but they both kick ass! 
If you loved the mental illness elements in Challenger Deep, try The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 
 

If you loved the feminism in Only Ever Yours, try The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood 
 

If you loved the travel in Just One Day, try On the Road by Jack Kerouac 
 

If you loved the  family and friend drama in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, try Hamlet by William Shakespeare 
 

Hamlet has more drama than any YA contemporary. Guaranteed. 

If you loved the honest look at sexual assault in Speak. try Tess of the D'urbervilles by Thomas Hardy     
 

Anything to add to my list? Link me your list below! 

28 comments:

  1. Yay for Throne of Glass. That's high on my MUST read list. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a great series! Hope you enjoy!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. I like the pairings with classic selections. Bravo!
    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  3. I LOVE YOUR LOVE TRIANGLE RECOMMENDATION ! Read both books and I loved them both! Especially Clockwork Princess ! Loved the whole series ! my TTT is here

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved the Infernal devices too! I haven't read that Hardy yet, but I did just finish Tess and enjoyed it. I want to read the Madding Crowd before watching the newest movie adaptation.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  4. What a fantastic way to tackle the list this week! :-) Fab choices

    ReplyDelete
  5. Omg! I love this list! I really do! I've read most of the classics on here but not all of the popular fiction. It's interesting to see the correlations. I had a couple of classics on my list this week but now I wish I had one what you did. lol. Bravo \o/ :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah thanks! Glad you enjoyed!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  6. I love that you suggested Classical reads! Although I have to say that I hate Wuthering Heights XD

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A lot of people hate it, but love similar characters in modern literature, so interesting to me!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  7. This is such a cool list, Mallory! I really like what you did with the topic this week. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love this list! Such a great idea to pair popular modern works with classics. And there's some really great books there. My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hi! I love pairing a classic with each one. Such a great idea! I like the doomed love and angsty teenagers pairing :)
    My TTT
    Leslie

    ReplyDelete
  10. This is such a good idea. Pairing up popular books with classics. I'm going to have to check some of these out!

    - Emma @ Emma Likes Books

    ReplyDelete
  11. what a fun way to do this theme! Great pairings! My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  12. Some of the YA books on your list are ones that I want to read!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/29/top-ten-tuesday-24/

    ReplyDelete
  13. That's such a cool way to do it! Great list!

    ReplyDelete